In the Champions League match between Barcelona and Borussia Dortmund, Lionel Messi was booked for diving.

In the Champions League match between Barcelona and Borussia Dortmund, Lionel Messi was booked for diving.

The Argentine went down under a challenge – or lack of one – from goalkeeper Roman Burki inside the penalty area.

The referee gave a free-kick to the visitors and gave Messi a yellow card. After a VAR check, the decision was confirmed.

While it seems that Messi wasn’t trying to deceive the referee, but he did go down without being touched.

By the looks of it, Messi planted his foot into the ground and slipped as he tried to round the goalkeeper. The Barca captain got back up and didn’t appeal for a penalty. He was even seen telling the referee not to give the spot-kick before being shown a yellow card. 

Was getting booked for diving a little harsh? Football fans seem to be divided on the same as Barca were already leading the game and went on to win 3-1.

1. ‘He didn’t dive today he tripped’

2. ‘I was told Messi doesn’t dive????’

3. ‘You can legit see the contact with the grass and the mud’

News Source: dnaindia.com

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here